top of page

2020 Results

We are extremely excited to announce 2020 winners of the New Zealand Mental Health Essay Competition!!

This year the competition was split into 3 age groups - Year 9, Year 10 and 11, Year 12 and 13. Essays where marked based on 5 criteria: Relevance, Ideas & Message, Focus & Organisation, Engagement and Language. Special thanks to Dr Kirsten Woof at Resilience Clinical Psychology for offering her time and professional perspective to help with judging.

All of the essays we received were well-written and completed with high degrees of thought. It was an extremely difficult process deciding the winners. Everyone's take on the theme was unique and intriguing, bringing different perspectives to youth mental health. It was definitely a pleasure reading through each essay and what each student had to say. We commend everyone who participated for their efforts!

Lastly, thank you to everyone that participated in NZMHAEC, as well as those that supported our competition. As our mission is to spark conversation among youth about mental health, working towards breaking down the social stigma surrounding mental health, your efforts allow us to become one step closer to this. 

We hope you continue to support NZMHAEC, as well as continue to talk about youth mental health! 

Thank you,



Please keep on scrolling for the results! 


2020 Results

Due to the high quality of all the essays, it was extremely tough to decide winners for each category. As a result, this year for the Year 9 category, there will be two winners. 

All winning essays and honourable mention essays are available below.


Year 9                                                                                            Ena Yin and Cody Zhang

Year 10 and 11                                                                               Lina Jang

Year 12 and 13                                                                               Jessica Cunningham

Honourable Mentions

Oshadha Perera, Nathan Xu, Gabriel Bartolome, Kelly Cha

Huge congratulations to all the winners and honourable mentions!


Click on the essay writers name to view their essay

Winning Essays

Ena Yin

Cody Zhang

Lina Jang

Jessica Cunningham

bottom of page